Honorary Chairs

Governor James B. Hunt, Jr.

Governor James G. Martin


James R. Leutze, Ph.D., Wilmington

James Anderson Ph.D. Fayetteville, NC
Reginald M. Barton Jr. New York, NY
Frank Block Wilmington, NC
Kirk Bradley Sanford, NC
Mark Bradley Ph.D. Alexandria, VA
Charles Broadwell Denton, NC
Martha Brown Winston-Salem, NC
David Bryan Fayetteville, NC
Norwood Bryan Fayetteville, NC
John Caldwell Fayetteville, NC
Jonathan Charleston Fayetteville, NC
Kevin Cherry Ph.D. Raleigh, NC
William Cogar Ph.D. Annapolis, MD
Jeffrey J. Crow Ph.D. Cary, NC
Angela Smith Crumpler Garner, NC
Morgan P. Dickerman III Wilson, NC
Samuel Dixon Edenton, NC
Philip Dunigan Winston-Salem, NC
John Duvall Sr., Ph.D. Fayetteville, NC
Jubal Early Charlotte, NC

Lisbeth Evans Winston-Salem, NC
David Farris Rocky Mount, NC
Charen Fink Southport, NC
Chris Fonvielle Ph.D. Wilmington, NC
Philip Gerard Wilmington, NC
Bryan Giemza Ph.D. Chapel Hill, NC
David Goldfield Ph.D. Charlotte, NC
R. Phillip Haire Sylva, NC
John Haley Wilmington, NC
J. Ron Hankins Charlotte, NC
John Healy Fayetteville, NC
Michael Hill Raleigh, NC
Frank Holding Jr. Raleigh, NC
Charles Broadfoot Holmes New York, NY
Kenneth Howard Raleigh, NC
Terry Hutchens Fayetteville, NC
Robert H. Kluttz Jr. Winston-Salem, NC
Ted Kunstling MD FCCP Raleigh, NC
The Honorable I. Beverly Lake Raleigh, NC
Thomas Lambeth Winston-Salem, NC

Karl McAlister Dillon, SC
Betty Ray McCain Wilson, NC
Michael McElreath Ph.D. Carrboro, NC
Gordon McKinney Ph.D. Flat Rock, NC
Bertha Miller Ph.D. Fayetteville, NC
John Ogburn III Asheboro, NC
Gerald J. Prokopowicz Ph.D. Greenville, NC
Anthony Rand Fayetteville, NC
Wallace Rueckel Jr. Southport, NC
Don Saunders Greensboro, NC
Jordan Shaw Charlotte, NC
BG (Ret.) Stephen R. Smith Hillsborough, NC
Benjamin Speller Jr., Ph.D. Edenton, NC
Musette Steck Southport, NC
Michael Waltrip Winston-Salem, NC
Darin Waters Ph.D. Asheville, NC
Harry Watson Ph.D. Chapel Hill, NC
Frederick E. Woltz MBA, J.D. Charlotte, NC


Frank Block

Jeannette Council, Ph.D.

Ron Hankins

O. Ray Manning, Jr.

Tony Rand

Cynthia Wilson

Kirk Bradley

Margaret Dickson (Secretary)

John “Mac” Healy, President

John Meroski

Tim Richardson

James R. Leutze, Ph.D. (Ex Officio)

Mary Lynn Bryan (Vice President)

BG (Ret.) William “Jay” Gothard

Robert H. Kluttz, Jr.

Bertha Miller, Ph.D.

Tonya Strickland, CPA (Treasurer)

About The Center

Transforming an existing regional museum into a major, statewide history center requires a tremendous amount of planning. The challenge is much greater…

Building The Museum Of The Future

The History Center is designed to be a “teaching museum” rather than a “collecting museum.” While hosting a respectable core collection, the History Center will…

Project Scope

The Civil War and Reconstruction in North Carolina are important and complicated subjects. Early in the planning process, there was considerable debate over the…


Board of Advisors, chair members, and director list.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This